Save 20% off! Get our Magazines and get 20% off right away!

GEA Hall of Fame

The 2023 Ghana Energy Awards features the Hall of Fame, which is an initiative to honour outstanding winners of the Ghana Energy Awards community whose contributions to the sector have been notable, substantial, and longstanding. Inductees must have won a given competitive category over time for at least three times.

New Categories

The newly introduced categories, which are all in the competitive section, include the Energy Signature Award, Energy Advocate of the Year, and the Energy Investment Impact Award. Moreover, consistent with the theme for the 2023 awards event, which accentuates the roles of the sector’s institutions toward achieving the decade-bound targets captured in Ghana’s energy transition framework document, five new exclusive categories are featured. These are the Energy Access Leadership Award, RE Infrastructure Project of the Year, Diversification Pioneer Award, Energy Transition Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award, and the Green Chief Trailblazer Award.

In all, there are 23 competitive categories – the Energy Personality of the Year (Male and Female); Chief Executive of the Year (Power and Petroleum); Visionary Leadership Award; Rising Star Award (Individual and Company); Energy Institution of the Year; Energy Company of the Year (Power, Petroleum and Renewable); Innovation Project of the Year; Energy Think Tank of the Year; Brand of the Year; Corporate Social Responsibility of the Year; Excellence in Power Generation; Clean Energy Initiative of the Year; Off-Grid Energy Solution of the Year; and the Energy Reporter of the Year.

Non-competitive Categories

The 7th GEA also features four categories in this section – the Osagyefo Young Leadership Award; the Women in Energy Excellence Award; Exemplary Leadership Award; and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Over the six-year course of this prestigious initiative, the Awards has recognised distinguished national figures with the Lifetime Achievement Award, including:

  • H. E. John Agyekum Kufuor, the former President
  • The Late former President Jerry John Rawlings
  • Mr Erasmus Alexander Kobla Kalitsi
  • Dr Charles Wereko-Brobbey
  • Mr Kweku Andoh Awotwi
  • Prof Francis Kofi Ampenyin Allotey
  • Lawyer Tsatsu Tsikata

Ghana Energy Awards

The Awards aim to recognise the sector’s innovation and excellence of players in the energy industry. It is endorsed by the Ministry of Energy as well as the World Energy Council, Ghana with authentication by validating firm Mazars.

GEA has an Awards Panel that undertakes an independent scoring of nominees’ entries after the closure of nominations. The scores are then collated and presented by the validators on the night of the main event.

The Panel is chaired by Energy Consultant Lawyer Kwame Jantuah, with other members including the former Chairman of the Energy Commission, Dr Kwame Ampofo; Technical Director of Media and Strategic Communications at the Office of the President, Dr Jemima Nunoo; Economist and Renowned Evangelist, Dr Lawrence Tetteh; and Pro Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ghana in charge of Research, Innovation and Development, Prof Felix Asante.

Toward the Main Awards Event

A series of outlined activities preclude the main 7th Ghana Energy Awards event slated for November this year:

  • Media Launch – Unveiling of Theme and Opening of Nominations
  • Courtesy Calls on Industry Partners
  • The Energy Personalities Outreach Programme – Platform for the Energy Personalities to interact and share knowledge with students of second-cycle institutions
  • Extensive Media Campaigns
  • Close of Nominations / Commencement of Applications’ Scoring
  • Site Visitation to Nominees’ Project Sites
  • Main Awards Ceremony in November 2023

Nominations for the 2023 Ghana Energy Awards are open from June 27 to September 29, 2023. Prospective candidates are to send their entries to

Industry Partners

The Volta River Authority (VRA), Bui Power Authority (BPA), Ghana National Gas Company (GNGC), GOIL, Meinergy Technology, Chamber of Petroleum Consumers (COPEC)-Ghana, Energy Commission, National Petroleum Authority (NPA), Bulk Oil Storage and Transportation Company (BOST), Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC), Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG), Ghana Grid Company (GRIDCo), Sunon Asogli Power, Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors (CBOD) Ghana.

Source: Energy Ghana